December 2013 IF Update

I can’t hardly believe it’s December already.  November was a busy month for me.  Work was really keeping me busy and I don’t see that slowing down a whole lot.   Not as much time on personal project that I would have liked to have spent, but I did manage to make some progress.

At the beginning of the month, having just submitted my work (Jack) to EctoComp, I was anxiously awaiting feedback.   I had some say it was actually a decent work considering the time limit.  Despite perhaps some grammatical issues, it was fairly well implemented for a first release.  Others were turned off by the overt violence that begins to happen half-way through the game and by the lack of an ending.  So I received a mixed bag of feedback, but it was all good advice that I was able to internalize and use to make a future release better and to consider in future works.

It also gave me an incentive to start on expanding and making the work better.  I’ve gone into some of this in my postmortem that I did on the game, but I’ve spent part of the month working on finishing it up and fleshing out the back-story more.  It actually evolved beyond what my initial ideas were so it’s going to take a bit longer to finish it up for a post-comp release.  Also some of you that didn’t like the violence, well….I’m trying to make alternatives paths through the game that are less violent, but the back-story has taken a turn and become a bit dark.  It seems to work in my head, but we shall see how others like it.  Maybe by the end of the year, I’ll put out a release.

Another thing that has begun to take my attention away from Jack, is the New Years comp that was just announced.  I’ve got a few ideas for that, that we’ll see if I can expand into something doable by it’s deadline.

And of course, there’s also the Spring Thing, which I really wanted to to enter, but I’ve not got much done, so I’m not sure I’ll meet that deadline.  I’ve got one work that is about 50% done, but just not sure if I’ll find the time (or want to make the time) to finish that up.

I must say that over the last few months that I’ve gotten back into the IF scene, I’ve met some great people that have helped me along quite a bit.  I know that community support is great and everyone for the most part, whether they criticize or praise your work, they do so in the effort to make it better.

I’m hoping to be able to give back to the community in some way through this blog (as well as hopefully releasing some new games).    I’ve got a few ideas for some series of articles here, that I think might benefit the programming community (at least in regards to Inform 7  and game design) at large as well as myself.  I might kick the idea around with a few individuals first to see if it’s something that would be helpful or not before going into any great detail here.

Well, that was my November and hoping for a productive December.  So go north my friends!

Leave a Reply

