Inform 7 – GL02 bug with First time / Only construct

I’ve been upgrading my WIPs to the new version of Inform and for the most part things have been going smoothly.  Once a few extensions were updated and I changed the way I was doing a few things (which were deprecated anyways), they worked pretty well.  After almost two weeks, I noticed somethings wasn’t correct with one description I had in some code like below.

The description of myObject is "[first time]Say this the first time only.[only] Rest of text that will print every time."

When examining the object, it never printed the text within the first time first time construct. After some digging and talking to a few people, I find that this has been reported.

0001291: “first time / only” is not shielded by say__comp

The work around for now is to use something like the following:

The description of myObject is "[one of]Say this the first time only.[or][stopping] Rest of text that will print every time."

One thought on “Inform 7 – GL02 bug with First time / Only construct

  1. Huh. I would have used “The description of myObject is “[if myObject is unexamined]Say this the first time only.[end if] Rest of text that will print every time.” So I would never have even noticed. Nice catch.

Leave a Reply

