Cragne Manor is released

As most readers of this probably already knows.  Cragne Manor, has been released.

Back in June, Ryan Veeder and Jenni Polodna organized this twentieth anniversary tribute to Anchorhead.  Eighty-four people signed up to author a room.  Each author, being assigned a room, worked independently, not knowing what the other authors were doing.

Ryan and Jenni, built the map and handed out the assigments, with minimal instruction.  Nothing more than what your connecting rooms were and some minimal instructions on an overarching goal of the room.  For example, your room may have to contain a certain object or include a puzzle utilizing one object to get another.

How you implemented this was up to you.  Some rooms may flat out give you the information needed in some atmospheric way, some may just contain a simple obvious puzzle, some are much more difficult and could be full games in themselves.

I was one of the authors and given my time spent on Trizbort over the last few years, I’ve done very little game development, so this was a lot of fun for me.  What’s cool about this, is that I know nothing about the rest of the game, other than what little I made it through in testing the beta versions.  I’m not even sure how far into the game my room is, nor how important my room is to the overall game.

So check it out, it’s long, it’s probably got bugs, but I suspect it will be a lot of fun.  Ryan and Jenni did a great job and spent a lot of time pulling this all together and bringing our mishmash of story and code into one cohesive pile.  Much thanks and credit go to them for their work on this!

 

https://rcveeder.net/cragne/

https://ifdb.tads.org/viewgame?id=4x7nltu8p851tn4x

 

Leave a comment